April 2016 Meeting – FARADAY MONTH

Standard

Present : Gabrielle, Heidi, Sandra, Ros, Sharon, Trish  and Catherine

Absent : Ann, Heather, Katie, Lynette, Mary

Business : Heidi had invited Library volunteer, Barbara, but not until very late so she didn’t come to this meeting.  Perhaps next time?

Discussion :  Well, the three who had read the book seemed impressed – ‘better than a social worker’. The found it more interesting and intriguing than expected, unexpectedly funny (thanking your handbag, making your socks happy) , thought-provoking although repetitive.

Others were more sceptical. Gabrielle’s black hole method sounds good – two black buckets into which anything left lying around is tossed until claimed/thrown away.

The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying up by Marie Kondo scored 3

The next meeting is on Friday 6 May when we will discuss Walking Free by Munjed Al Muderis.

To which I replied : It's my book club read for next Friday. I'm going to make do with the precis from a magazine article. If I threw everything out that doesn't give me joy I'd be living in an empty box with only my favourite books. And I'd be starkers.

Leave a Reply

