Standard

On Friday night we talked about a couple of useful websites:

Goodreading magazine – has reviews of new books in the monthly issue – can be borrowed from the Library or read online if you are a Library member. Their website also has an area for book groups where you can find discussion questions for some books.

Double click on picture to enlarge

Double click on picture to enlarge

Literature map – put in a favourite author’s name and people who write in a similar way are shown with those most like your author closest to your author’s name. Here I’ve used Christos Tsiolkas.

Literature map

Double click on picture to enlarge

Fantastic Fiction – I use this all the time at work to find out which order a series has been written in. It’s also useful for finding readalikes – if you scroll to the very bottom you find there is a Visitors to this page also looked at these authors bit. Here I’ve used Christos Tsiolkas again but the examples are rubbish in this instance; Phillipa Gregory a readalike for Christos Tsiolkas, I don’t think so! Usually it’s pretty good, give it a burl.

Double click on picture to enlarge

Double click on picture to enlarge

 

There are more to explore on the Web, blogs and Lists page

 

Heidi

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s