Posted in Uncategorized

2011 Prime Minister’s Literary Awards Shortlists

Federal Arts Minister, Simon Crean, has announced the 2011 Prime Minister’s Literary Awards shortlists.

Mr Crean said being shortlisted for the Prime Minister’s Literary Awards is a great achievement for authors that will bring further public recognition of their writing. The judging panels were enormously impressed by the breadth of talent displayed in this year’s entries, and applauded the inventiveness, artistry and flair for which Australian creators and publishers are justly renowned.
So here are the shortlists :
Sydney by Delia Falconer
How To Make Gravy by Paul Kelly
The Party by Richard McGregor
The Hard Light of Day by Rod Moss
Claude Levi-Strauss: The Poet in the Laboratory by Patrick Wilcken
Traitor by Stephen Daisley
Notorious by Roberta Lowing
When Colts Ran by Roger McDonald
Glissando by David Musgrave
That Deadman Dance by Kim Scott
Young Adult Fiction
Good Oil by Laura Buzo
Graffiti Moon by Cath Crowley
The Three Loves of Persimmon by Cassandra Gold
About a Girl by Joanne Horniman
The Piper’s Son by Melina Marchetta
Children’s Fiction
Why I Love Australia by Bronwyn Bancroft
Flyaway by Lucy Christopher
Now by Morris Gleitzman
April Underhill, Tooth Fairy by Bob Graham
Shake a Leg by Boori Monty Pryor and Jan Ormerod
More information about the shortlists is available from the Australian Government’s Arts and Culture web pages.
The winners will be announced in early July.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s