Posted in Uncategorized

Miles Franklin Shortlist

The 2011 Miles Franklin Literary Award shortlist has been announced this morning and consists of :

Bereft by Chris Womersley

That Deadman Dance by Kim Scott

When Colts Ran by Roger McDonald

The judging panel reflected on Miles Franklin’s desire for a unique character in Australian literature. “These shortlisted books have a distinctive, indelible Australian voice. It’s a voice that has nothing to do with reflex nationalism, or jingoism – rather the reverse. The shortlisted books this year are like barometers of the state of our culture: they take the readings, and give them back to us in fiction of extraordinary accomplishment. They force us to look again at ourselves, and to think – hard.”

Look back on the 2011 longlist here.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s