Posted in Uncategorized

Miles Franklin Literary Award Longlist

The 2011 longlist for the Miles Franklin Literary Award was announced yesterday.

‘The Miles Franklin Literary Award celebrates Australian character and creativity and nurtures the continuing life of literature about Australia. It is awarded for the novel of the year which is of the highest literary merit and presents Australian life in any of its phases.

Since it was first awarded in 1957 to Patrick White for his novel Voss, the award has encouraged authors and delivered an immense contribution to the richness of Australian cultural life’ (The Trust Company).

The Miles Franklin Literary Award is Australia’s most prestigious literary prize and comes with $50,000 prize money.

The 2011 Miles Franklin Literary Award Longlist, chosen from the 55 books that were submitted for this year’s award.

To read more about the longlist novels and their authors, click on this link.

The Shortlist is due to be announced on 19 April 2011


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s