Posted in Uncategorized

Costa Book Award shortlist

The shortlisted books for the 2010 Costa Book Awards has been announced. The Costa Book Awards is unique in having five categories: First Novel, Novel, Biography, Poetry and Children’s Book. It is also the only prize where children’s books and books for adults vie equally for the final prize.

Here are the shortlisted books in each category. Instead of the usual links to the Blue Mountains City Library catalogue, these links will take you to a summary of each book and comments from the judges on why each was chosen. An asterisk indicates that Blue Mountains City Library has a copy of a book :

Costa First Novel Award

Costa Novel Award

Costa Biography Award

Costa Poetry Award

Costa Children’s Book Award

The winner in each category receives £5,000. The 2010 category winners will be announced on January 5th 2011. Then one of the five category winners will be selected as the overall Costa Book of the Year winner, to be announced on January 25th 2011, and the author receives a further £30,000.

To be eligible for the Costa Book Awards, the author must have been resident in the UK or Ireland for over six months of each of the previous three years and the books, which are submitted by the publisher not the author, must have been first published in the UK or Ireland between 1 November of the previous year and 31 October of the current year. Books previously published elsewhere are not eligible.

A pdf file of previous Costa/Whitbread Book Award winners can be downloaded from this page.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s