Posted in Uncategorized

Blair’s bad sex


These articles in The Telegraph and the Washington Post have tickled my fancy.

Tony Blair has been nominated for the Literary Review’s Bad Sex Awards. These are awarded annually for “poorly written, redundant or crude passages of a sexual nature”.- usually for fiction but Tony’s description of consolatory (is that a word?) sex in his autobiography, A Journey, has been granted an exemption of the rules.

Here is the offending text:

“That night she cradled me in her arms and soothed me; told me what I needed to be told; strengthened me. On that night of 12 May 1994, I needed that love Cherie gave me, selfishly. I devoured it to give me strength. I was an animal following my instinct.”

Here are last year’s nominations. Nick Cave’s The death of Bunny Monroe certainly had one of the worst covers I’ve ever seen.

It was mooted earlier this year that fear of nomination for or worse, winning, this prize has led to a decline in passion in British fiction – see this Guardian article – I assume the non-fiction writers were sighing with relief and laughing up their sleeves. Now they must be afraid, very afraid . . .

The shortlist for the Bad sex award is due to be announced next month, with the prize no author wants to win due to be awarded on 29 November.

Leave a Reply

