Posted in Uncategorized

Man Booker Prize Longlist

The Man Booker Dozen, the longlist for the Man Booker Prize, was announced last night from a total of 138 entries. The prize winner, to be announced in October, receives £50,000 as well as greatly increased sales and worldwide recognition while each of the six shortlisted authors, to be announced in September, will receive £2,500 and a designer-bound edition of their book.

In announcing the longlist Andrew Motion, chair of judges, commented : “Here are thirteen exceptional novels – books we have chosen for their intrinsic quality, without reference to the past work of their authors. Wide-ranging in their geography and their concern, they tell powerful stories which make the familiar strange and cover an enormous range of history and feeling. We feel confident that they will provoke and entertain.”

The 2010 longlist includes two Australians, Peter Carey (two time winner already – Oscar and Lucinda in 1988 and True History of the Kelly Gang in 2001 – also shortlisted in 1985 for Illywhacker and longlisted in 2006 for Theft) and Christos Tsiolkas. who has already won the Commonweath Prize for The Slap.

Here is the Man Booker Dozen for 2010 :

You can see a list of previous longlisted, shortlisted and winning novels from 1969 to 2009 here or here (with book covers).


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s