Posted in Uncategorized

2010 Miles Franklin Literary Award Winner

Congratulations go today to crime writer Peter Temple who has been awarded the 2010 Miles Franklin Literary Award, worth $42,000, for his latest book, Truth.
Recognised as Australia’s most prestigious prize, the Miles Franklin Literary Award which was established in 1957, is given to the novel of the highest literary merit that presents Australian life. Truth, also makes history as the first work of genre fiction to win the award.
“It unusual for a crime writer to receive such a prestigious award, so cop it sweet,” Temple told AAP upon receiving the award. He joked that Australia’s first Nobel laureate, Patrick White, would find it “unthinkable” that a crime writer had won the prize.
Temple says he feels “enormously elated” by his win. “One only has to look at the people who have won the Miles Franklin,” he added. “In order to join that company, you have to believe that you’ve joined something quite special.”
“I mean in any other terms it really would be like winning the Nobel Prize.”

Truth is the sequel to The Broken Shore, also highly regarded, and follows Inspector Stephen Villani, the head of the Victoria Police Homicide Squad who we met briefly in The Broken Shore. It is set during the aftermath of the devastating Black Saturday bushfires of February 2009 when 173 people died and 414 were injured.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s