Posted in Uncategorized

NSW Premier’s Literary Prizes 2010 Winners

The winners of the 2010 NSW Premier’s Literary Awards were announced on Monday and are:

Christina Stead Prize for Fiction ~ Summertime by J.M. Coetzee

Douglas Stewart Prize for Non-Fiction and Book of the Year ~ Kill Khalid: Mossad’s failed hit … and the rise of Hamas by Paul McGeough

Kenneth Slessor Prize for Poetry ~ the sonnet according to ‘m’ by Jordie Albiston

Ethel Turner Prize for Young People’s Literature ~ When the Hipchicks Went to War by Pamela Rushby

Patricia Wrightson Prize for Children’s Literature ~ Krakatoa Lighthouse by Allan Baillie

Script Writing Award ~ Bright Star by Jane Campion and Fairweather Man
by Aviva Ziegler

NSW Premier’s Prize for Literary Scholarship ~ Networked Language: Culture and History in Australian Poetry by Philip Mead

Community Relations Commission Award ~ Leave to Remain: A Memoir by Abbas El-Zein

UTS Glenda Adams Award for New Writing for Fiction ~ Document Z by Andrew Croome

The People’s Choice Award ~ The World Beneath by Cate Kennedy

Special Award ~ The Macquarie Pen Anthology of Australian Literature

You can read the judges’ comments on each title by clicking here.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s