Posted in Uncategorized

Miles Franklin Longlist

It’s a busy week for longlists. The Miles Franklin Lliterary Award longlist has also been announced. The annual award was set up in 1954 through a bequest of My Brilliant Career author Stella Miles Franklin and is presented to the author of the novel of the highest literary merit which presents Australian life in any of its phases.

Miles Franklin Literary Award 2010 judge, Morag Fraser, said the blend of authors showed that new and award-winning writers continued to expand Australia’s understanding of its own culture. “The newcomers stand alongside some of the great names of Australian literature – writers who have helped define Australian culture and deepened our understanding of ourselves,” Professor Morag said in a statement. “For range and diversity, this is an outstanding Miles Franklin list.”

The 2010 short list will be announced in April, with the winner of the $42,000 prize to be announced at a dinner in Sydney on June 22.

The longlist was chosen from an original field of 50 books and includes:


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s