Questions for Bookworms

Standard

Stolen shamelessly from the Booktagger blog

  1. Do you snack while you read? If so, favourite reading snack?
  2. Do you tend to mark your books as you read them, or does the idea of writing on your books horrify you?
  3. How do you keep your place while reading a book? Bookmark? Dog ears? Leaving the book open flat?
  4. Fiction, Non-Fiction or both?
  5. Are you a person who tends to read to the end of chapters, or are you able to put a book down at any point?
  6. If you come across an unfamiliar word, do you stop to look it up right away?
  7. What are you currently reading? 
  8. What is the last book you bought?
  9. Are you the type of person who can only read one book at a time or can you read more than one at a time?
  10. Do you prefer series or stand alone books?
  11. Is there a specific book or author that you find yourself recommending over and over?
  12. How do you organize your books (by genre, title, author’s last name, etc.)?
  13. What was your favourite read this year?

Now, copy and paste the questions into the Comments and share your answers

4 responses »

  1. 1.Do you snack while you read? If so, favourite reading snack?
    * Chocolate is my favourite snack but I’d eat it anytime, not just reading.
    2.Do you tend to mark your books as you read them, or does the idea of writing on your books horrify you?
    * I used to when I was at school and uni and it’s fun to look back on those marginalia but I don’t do it anymore, I tend to write notes in a separate book.
    3.How do you keep your place while reading a book? Bookmark? Dog ears? Leaving the book open flat?
    * Try to always use a bookmark but occasionally will leave it flat – never turn over the corner.
    4.Fiction, Non-Fiction or both?
    * Both.
    5.Are you a person who tends to read to the end of chapters, or are you able to put a book down at any point?
    * Depends what’s happening. I prefer to go to the end of the chapter but often fall asleep well before or during the day something may interrupt at the ‘wrong’ time.
    6.If you come across an unfamiliar word, do you stop to look it up right away?
    * That depends on whether I can get the gist of the meaning or not. If the book has a glossary I’ll go to it if I come across an unknown word or I’ll chase it up in the dictionary if it’s interesting enough – or if the dictionary is nearby.
    7.What are you currently reading? T
    * The Boat by Nam Le
    8.What is the last book you bought?
    * 5 of the Best and 5 Nights a Week both Delicious mag books by Valli Little. I bought them from the post office this morning – they are $39 odd dollars for the pair there – my sister and I saw them for $39+ each in the ABC Shop on the weekend.
    9.Are you the type of person who can only read one book at a time or can you read more than one at a time?
    * I often have more than one book on the go.
    10.Do you prefer series or stand alone books?
    * I don’t often have the time to persue a whole series – there are just a few authors where I would persue everything they wrote and hang out for the new stuff – Ian Rankin, Jasper Fforde would be two. Oh and Ian McEwan.
    11.Is there a specific book or author that you find yourself recommending over and over?
    12.How do you organize your books (by genre, title, author’s last name, etc.)?
    * They are higgledy piggledy at the moment, or kind of by size but I have been looking at the shelves and contemplating organising them by colour . . .
    13.What was your favourite read this year?
    * Henry VIII : man and monarch / exhibition guest curated by David Starkey ; British Library curator, Andrea Clarke ; catalogue edited by Susan Doran. It was the 500th anniversary of Henry VIII coming to the English throne this year and the British Library had an exhibition on from May-Sept (I think it was). This book shows some of the stuff in the exhibition and is just BEAUTIFUL. I had a rare old time dipping about in Tudor history this year.

  2. Loved reading your blurb!!! I have been trying to remember the name Jasper Fforde for hte past 4 days so I ao glad you had it written here!

  3. From Gabrielle :
    1. Do you snack while you read? If so, favourite reading snack?

    No I usually don’t snack while reading!

    2. Do you tend to mark your books as you read them, or does the idea of writing on your books horrify you?
    It horrifies me!!! I don’t even mark a text book…isnt that what sticky notes are for?

    3. How do you keep your place while reading a book? Bookmark? Dog ears? Leaving the book open flat?
    Bookmark…can be anything from a bit of paper to a ‘real’ bookmark!

    4. Fiction, Non-Fiction or both?
    Both

    5. Are you a person who tends to read to the end of chapters, or are you able to put a book down at any point?
    It depends on how tired I am! Usually to end of chapter (or book if it is riveting!!!)

    6. If you come across an unfamiliar word, do you stop to look it up right away?
    Nah….I try to figure it out in the context of the book…very rarely do I look up words!!

    7. What are you currently reading?
    The Slap

    8. What is the last book you bought?
    Just Annoying by Andy Griffiths…pressie for my nephew

    9. Are you the type of person who can only read one book at a time or can you read more than one at a time?
    Usually one fiction and one non-fiction on the go!!

    10. Do you prefer series or stand alone books?
    Either!

    11. Is there a specific book or author that you find yourself recommending over and over?
    No! Going to book club has opened me up to so many other authors!

    12. How do you organize your books (by genre, title, author’s last name, etc.)?
    I don’t organise them…oh actually I have books by same author together usually.

    13. What was your favourite read this year?
    Hmmm…too many to choose from but I did like The Secret River and also the White Tiger.

Leave a Reply

