Posted in ABIA Book of the Year, Fiction, Literature Prizes

Australian Book Industry Book of the Year

It seems a bit early in the year to me to be choosing the book of the year, but the Book Award Tragic tells me that last night, in Sydney, the Australian Book Industry Awards (of which there are 18 in all) were awarded. The winners are chosen by 150 booksellers and publishers who voted online in April/May 2009.

You can read Book Award Tragic’s full run-down here. It’s a comprehensive and lovingly put-together list of all the winners and honourable mentions. Just let me tell you that the winner of the Book of the Year was The Slap by Christos Tsiolkas.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s