Posted in Commonwealth Writer's Prize, Literature Prizes

Commonwealth writers’ prize 2009

The short lists for the Commonwealth writers’ prize 2009 have been announced. The objectives of the prize are to “promote new voices, reward achievement, encourage wider readership and greater literacy, thereby increasing appreciation of different cultures and building understanding between cultures.”

In each of four regions (Africa, Canada and the Caribbean, Europe and South Asia, South East Asia and the Pacific), two prizes are awarded: one for the Best Book and one for the Best First Book. The eight winners that emerge from the regional judging then go through to the final phase of the competition to decide the overall Commonwealth winners for Best Book and Best First Book.

The full complement of regional short lists can be viewed here, but the Best Book and Best First Book shortlists for our (South East Asia and the Pacific) region are:


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s