Posted in Book Blogs, Book Lists, Books and Reading

1000 books everyone must read


The UK’s Guardian newspaper has come up with 1000 novels everyone must read: the definitive list. Selected by the Guardian’s Review team and a panel of expert judges, this list includes only novels – no memoirs, no short stories, no long poems – from any decade and in any language. The list is divided into 7 categories: comedy, crime, family and self, love, science fiction and fantasy, state of the nation and war and travel (?!).

Now, I usually avoid lists such as these, I usually come away feeling inadequate – 1001 books you must read before you die, which was edited by Peter Boxall, is a case in point. Of the 1001 books listed there, I’d only read about 3. I would have read 4 if we’d been able to get a copy that Lloyd Jones book Catherine chose last year but it was out of print, none of us could source a copy anywhere and a replacement had to be chosen. ANYWAY, I am pleased to report this list is much more me friendly – I’ve read 13 in the comedy list alone – yay!

One thought on “1000 books everyone must read

  1. Alright Heidi if I choose a book from this list you are NOT to complain. I chose Cold Comfort Farm from the other condemned book and you guys then had a movie night while my cold comfort was going to work. Shall I have another stab at comedy as CCF was not as hilarious as I was lead to believe.

Leave a Reply

